To make sure that you receive member pricing, please login.  If you don't have an account with us, then click on 'Create Account' below.

Sign In

Neville Power and David Thodey AO in conversation with Jillian Segal AO - 2 June

Leveraging innovation to accelerate Australia’s economic recovery
Please join Neville Power, Chairman and David Thodey AO, Deputy Chair and Technology and Science Commissioner, National COVID-19 Coordination Commission (NCCC) in conversation with Jillian Segal AO
They will discuss the work of the Commission to-date and its future focus whilst considering the role of innovation in aiding Australia’s economic recovery. 

The Commissioners have been talking to a broad range of business and not-for-profit groups and are keen to hear from our network. The conversation will consider how the Government might best support Australia’s economic recovery and fast track employment growth through new areas of investment and focus. You are encouraged to submit questions, suggestions or comments both prior to the session and during the event.
Neville Power, Chairman, NCCC

Neville Power is the Chairman of Perth Airport, the Foundation for the WA Museum and the Royal Flying Doctors Federation Board and is the Deputy Chairman of Strike Energy Ltd.  Nev held the position of Managing Director and CEO of Fortescue Metals Group Ltd for seven years, having joined the group in 2011.  During his tenure Fortescue more than quadrupled production and achieved engagement with Aboriginal communities. He was previously Chief Executive of the Australian operations at Theiss and prior to that spent more than ten years in senior executive positions at Smorgon Steel Group. 
In 2016 Nev was named WA Business Leader of the Year.  He also has a long history in agribusiness and aviation holding both fixed wing and rotary pilot licences. Nev is a passionate advocate for health and development of regional and aboriginal communities.  He owns and operates a cattle station in Queensland where he was born and raised. 

David Thodey AO, Deputy Chair and Technology and Science Commissioner, NCCC
David Thodey is a business leader focused on innovation, technology and telecommunications with more than 30 years of experience. He is currently Chairman of Australia’s national scientific research agency, the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO), Tyro, Australia’s only independent EFTPOS banking institution, and Xero, a cloud-based accounting software provider for small and medium-sized businesses. Mr Thodey is also a non-executive Board director of Ramsay Health Care, a global hospital group and Vodafone Group Plc. Mr Thodey recently lead an Independent Review of the Australian Public Service (APS). This review was commissioned by the Prime Minister to ensure that the APS is fit-for-purpose to serve Australian Governments and the Australian people into the future. Mr Thodey is currently Chair of an eminent Panel appointed by the NSW Government to lead an independent review of Federal Financial Relations.
Previously, he had a successful career as CEO of Telstra, Australia’s leading telecommunications and information services company and CEO of IBM Australia and New Zealand. Mr Thodey was awarded an Honorary Doctorate in Science and Technology from Deakin University in 2016 and an Honorary Doctorate of Business from University of Technology Sydney in 2018. In 2017, Mr Thodey was made an Officer (AO) in the General Division of the Order of Australia

Jillian Segal AO - Chair Australia-Israel Chamber of Commerce (NSW)
Jillian Segal is a professional company director with a legal and regulatory background and private and public sector experience. Currently, she is a director of Rabobank Australia, Chair of the General Sir John Monash Foundation and Chair of the Independent Parliamentary Expenses Authority (IPEA). Jillian is on the board of the Garvan Institute of Medical Research, she is a director of the Grattan Institute and a Trustee of the Sydney Opera House Trust. Jillian is President of the Executive Council of Australian Jewry (ECAJ). Previously she was a director of ASX Ltd and National Australia Bank Ltd and a member of the federal government's Remuneration Tribunal.

6/2/2020 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
AUS Eastern Standard Time